
Investment Adviser Registration Requirements 

 

State Registered 

 Form ADV (Parts 1 and 2) filed through the Investment Adviser Registration Depository 
(IARD) 

 Filing fee of $150 payable through the IARD 
 Current financial statement (a balance sheet as of a date within 90 days prior to the filing 

date and that is prepared according to generally accepted accounting principles) that must 
be filed with this office and is not required to be certified by an independent public 
accountant 

 Section 704(C) of the Louisiana Securities Law grants the commissioner the authority to 
require investment advisers to submit financial statements at any time.  Pursuant to this 
authority, investment advisers are required to submit a copy of their balance sheet and 
income statement to this office annually within 90 days of the firm’s fiscal year-end. 

 

Notice Filer 

 Form ADV (Parts 1 and 2) filed through the IARD 
 Filing fee of $150 payable through IARD 
 Current financial statement at initial notice filing and annual financial statements may be 

filed with the SEC 

 

Notes 

 All Investment Adviser registrations and notice filings expire on December 31st of each 
year, if not renewed prior to that date.  Renewals are through IARD.   

 The fee for annual renewal is $150.   
 Dual registration of representatives is not permitted unless the firms are affiliated (please 

refer here to see this Office’s Statement of Policy No. S-03-2005).  A representative must 
be cancelled by their current firm before a new registration can be approved.   

 For testing requirements, please refer here to see applicable portions of the Investment 
Adviser Registration Procedure Rule.     

 The commissioner may require such additional information as he may deem necessary 
to establish whether the applicant should be registered.  For example, refer here to see 
a list of additional registration documentation required for Investment Adviser 
applicants for state registration whose firm’s principal office is domiciled in Louisiana.   
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