

## STATE OF LOUISIANA OFFICE OF FINANCIAL INSTITUTIONS BATON ROUGE, LOUISIANA



## IMPORTANT CONSUMER INFORMATION

The following Legislative Summary details the key provisions of Act 369 (HB 483) of the 2025 Fiscal Legislative Session, which makes any person who owns, operates solicits, markets, advertises, or facilitates a virtual currency kiosk machine in the State of Louisiana subject to the provisions of the VCBA. Please review this information very carefully to determine how this may impact you in the future. To view Act 369 in its entirety, please visit the Louisiana Legislature's website at <a href="https://www.legis.gov">www.legis.gov</a>.

## **2025 LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY**

Act 369 (HB 483) includes the following: a \$3,000 daily transactional limit for each user of a virtual currency kiosk, a 72 hour waiting period, the posting of clear and concise disclosures, and mandates the formulation and implementation of written policies and procedures that are intended to aid in fraud detection and prevention.

The Act was signed into law on June 20, 2025, with an effective date of August 1, 2025. <u>For a complete list of VCBA licensees, who own and operate virtual currency kiosk machines in the State of Louisiana at this time, please refer to Addendum A.</u>

For more information, please contact Chief Examiner Michelle Jeansonne at (225) 922-2596 or mjeansonne@ofi.la.gov or Deputy Chief Examiner Kellie Mule at (225) 925-1985 or kmule@ofi.la.gov. This Legislative Summary is provided for informational purposes only, and is not intended to be an official interpretation and/or opinion of the Louisiana Office of Financial Institutions.