Depository Institutions

This division is responsible for the chartering, supervision, and regulation of federally-insured state-chartered depository institutions and certain affiliated/related entities. These institutions include banks, savings banks, savings and loan associations, their respective holding companies, credit unions, and banks with powers limited to trust activities. 

This division also regulates Business and Industrial Development Corporations (BIDCOs) and Certified Louisiana Capital Companies (CAPCOs). The BIDCO program promotes the formation of business and industrial development corporations to help meet the financing assistance and management needs of business firms in the State. The CAPCO program provides tax credits to companies who invest in CAPCOs, which in turn make equity investments in qualifying Louisiana businesses.

A vast majority of the state-chartered depository institutions regulated by this division are in sound financial condition.  In fact, over 92 percent of these state-chartered depository institutions are rated in the highest two categories under current regulatory guidelines.  OFI will continue to closely oversee the financial condition of state-chartered depository institutions to ensure the economic stability of the industry and safeguard the instruments and/or deposits of the citizens of Louisiana.

Custodian of Record

Jonathan Finley

Records Request

For open records requests, please mail or fax your request to:

ATTN: Depository Division
8660 United Plaza Boulevard, 2nd Floor
Baton Rouge, LA 70809-7024

Fax: (225) 925-4525

Depository Complaints

All complaints must be submitted in writing. To file a complaint, please complete the complaint form and send to OFI by mail or fax.

ATTN: Depository Division
8660 United Plaza Boulevard, 2nd Floor
Baton Rouge, LA 70809-7024

(225) 925-4525